Department of Education & Human Services

The College of Education consists of a single department, the Department of Education and Human Services and with six distinct academic programs. In addition, the college supports a set of interrelated programs to include Centennial School, Center for Developing Urban Educational Leaders (CDUEL), Center for Promoting Research to Practice (CPRP), Office of International Programs, and the Office of Teacher Certification.

Program definition
A program consists of a cluster of certifications and/or degree areas  A program director is appointed by the department chair after consultation with the program faculty and dean. Program directors serve three-year renewable terms.
Program configuration
The Department of Education and Human Services consists of the following six programs:
  • Comparative and International Education
  • Counseling Psychology
  • Educational Leadership
  • School Psychology
  • Special Education
  • Teaching, Learning and Technology (teacher education and instructional technology/design)
The overarching focus of these programs is to prepare students for leadership roles in evidence based, cross-disciplinary inquiry that shapes educational practices nationally and internationally. While the College of Education does prepare individuals for leadership roles in school systems, we also prepare individuals for a variety of positions in business and industry, healthcare, private practice, international development, and community-based organizations. We embrace the philosophy that a quality education experience should provide the instruction, resources, and experience necessary to create a new type of educator, one who understands the nature of learning, the role of new knowledge, values collaboration and teamwork, and embraces societal challenges. 
Non-program structures
All centers (present and future) and externally funded long term research or training programs report directly to the dean of the college and consult with the chair on programmatic matters. The department chair has a voting role on the Centennial School governance council.
Department Chair: Dr. Arpana Inman
Associate Chairperson: Dr. Alec Bodzin
Department Coordinator: Donna Ball